Michael Kramer


the audiobook!

Mythborn I: Rise of the Adepts

“A rousing epic in which supernatural beings threaten the world of their own creators… Ambitious, colorful and highly readable…”

—Kirkus Reviews


pprentice assassin Arek Winterthorn has a power even he himself doesn’t understand. Unable to cast even the simplest of spells, he can still disrupt the magic of others with a single touch. Arek’s master, Silbane, is ordered to use

that power to close a gate between their world and one inhabited by demons. This will save their people, but potentially at the cost of Arek’s life.

Thus begins an epic quest brimming with betrayals, plot twists, violence, and intrigue. Silbane and Arek will fight relentlessly in battles and skirmishes against mages, dwarves, elves, and even dragons, but their true adversary may be each other. In the end, they will be faced with the ultimate question: What sacrifice is too great for the good of their people and their world?

With non-stop action, an intricate mix of powerful magic and deadly martial arts, Mythborn brings to life a world filled with creatures and gods from legend crafted by the designer of the award-winning Elder Scrolls: Arena and martial-arts master, V. Lakshman.

Available on Amazon



Book 2:
Bane Of The Warforged

Set against the epic backdrop of a world at war with myths and legends brought to life, Mythborn 2 continues the sweeping saga of Arek Winterthorn, wayward apprentice of the eldritch Way as he struggles to survive in the demon realm of Arcadia.



Book 3:

Continuing the award-winning saga Mythborn 3 follows Silbane, Kisan, Ash, and Yetteje as they journey through the demon realm of Lilyth. Silbane uses his gift of dragonsight, hoping to find his apprentice before it’s too late.



Book 4:
Litany of the Cypher

Arek and his companions must escape Arcadia before Sovereign’s dark nephilim or magehunter Alion Deft and her Furies find them. The key lies within a Cypher created by the Queen of the Aeris, Lilyth. Arek seeks to understand the purpose of his life, but other want to end him before he can discover who or what he truly is.

Can his party unravel the Litany of the Cypher and escape Arcadia before it’s too late?



Book 5:

Arcadia is no more, destroyed by Arek’s dark gift and war tears the realms of Edyn apart. Arek and his companions must find a way to unravel the Litany of the Cypher, the key to unlock Edyn’s plight, or Sovereign will remake the world.

Kirkus Review of Mythborn I

Debut fantasy novelist Lakshman offers a rousing epic in which supernatural beings threaten the world of their own creators.

Did gods and demons always exist, or did their believers bring them into being? That question springboards this Tolkien-esque tale, which includes plenty of fresh twists. In a threatened world called Edyn, archmages and adepts, including the powerful Silbane Petracles, train in a life-sustaining discipline called the Way. Azrael and Lilyth, an angel and a demon who lead the power-hungry Aeris, gear up to fight them in a looming conflict that will determine the fate of the world. At the center of it all is a student of the Way, Arek Winterthorn—a seemingly innocent young man of unknown, perhaps catastrophic, origin.

The text is deftly written… Lakshman shows a plate spinner’s skill as he smoothly balances the novel’s diverse elements and keeps the action rolling at a fast clip. The author shapes his ambitious, entertaining story with a lengthy menu of familiar genre elements—good and bad mages, anti-magic fanatics, dragons, dwarves and elves. He also includes bloody combat, a sentient sword, feisty princes and princesses, noble kings and warriors, and gates to other planes of existence—and even mixes in concepts from world religions and ancient mythologies. (The author’s descriptions of physical combat, training and strategy have an authenticity that’s reminiscent of Elizabeth Moon’s 1992 masterwork The Deed of Paksenarrion.)

An ambitious, colorful and highly readable fantasy epic.

~Kirkus Reviews

Check out our new Mythborn Store! Dismiss